клуб

female

женских

single combat

единоборств

club

Rambler's Top100


They made the history


Prize Fighters

Elizabeth Wilkinson-Stokes

Elizabeth Stocks knocks out an opponent

Girl Fistfight
Skecth from Police Gazette


Русская версия


Hand-to-hand fighting is one of the oldest entertainments of both genders in Britain – it is popular to this very day. Prize fighting face to face is a truly folk sport and entertainment in Britain.

While low-class men fought, nobody paid attention but in the early 18th century it became known in media thanks to the interest to the sport higher classes. The sport of bare knuckle boxing was born in the early 18th century from prize fighting – famous boxer James Figg is considered as its founding father.

Boxing began one of several periods of growth and transformation in the early 1700’s when the first recognized boxing champion, James Figg opened the ‘School of Arms and Self Defense’ in London. In 1719, Figg became the first English bare-knuckle champion, and held the title for 11 years. Figg changed the sport from one which used punching, wrestling and kicking (know as purring) to one which relied solely on punching skill. At the time, there were no weight restrictions or divisions, no gloves, no set number of rounds, no specified length to the rounds and no rest periods.

In 1743 Jack Broughton, a student of James Figg and known as the ‘the father of English boxing’, implemented the use of his Broughton Rules which soon caught on and became the standard for all bouts. Each round would end when a fighter was knocked down or out of the ring and a fight ended when one combatant was unable to rise from a knockdown within 30 seconds. Fights could end by knockout, capitulation or police intervention. These rules remained in play until 1839 when the London Prize Ring Rules introduced the use of a 24 square-foot boxing ring with ropes surrounding it.

As soon as the general public gets familiar with the sport of bare-knuckle fighting, it turned out that not only men had already been in the sport.

Martin Nogue’s "Voyages et Avantures", published in 1728, reported matches between girls and grown women "stripped to the waist." James Peller Malcolm’s "Anecdotes of the manners and customs of London" collected numerous references to female pugilists at Hockey in the Hole (a traditional venue for combat sports) and at James Figg’s famed "Amphitheatre".

This old sport of prize-fighting was more close to kickboxing with elements of wrestling, rather than boxing. According to the rules women would punch, use their feet and knees kicking to all parts of their opponents’ body. They also could maul, scratch and throw. This resulted in serious injury for either or both fighters. Boxing fights at that time were bloody and bare-knuckled contests fought to the end among low class women. Sometimes female boxers were stripped to the waist.

The sight of a vampish, aggressive woman, sweaty, bloody and often bare breasted, provided an exciting display of animality and passion. While this undoubtedly provided sexual titillation for the male audience, it also powerfully denies popularly held beliefs about the natural passivity, gentleness or weakness of the female sex.

Because there were relatively few women capable to fight, matches were often against men and sometimes women were the victors. More usually, women were seriously injured. On-the-spot stitching of large cuts was sometimes carried out so that a bout could continue, and women fought on with broken noses and jaws, smashed teeth and swollen eyes.

In the 18th century, boxing became very popular in Britain – men and women of low classes often fought for prize (and sometimes for spirit). But boxing was especially popular among male noble Britons (noble ladies of course didn't fistfight – it was commoners' business; nevertheless, as you can see at the fragment of the engraving at the right, two ladies supporting different boxers fight each other during a boxing match in a noble house).

Elizabeth Wilkinson
Elizabeth Wilkinson-Stokes

The first recorded modern female boxing fight with the bare hands took place in London in 1722 at the Boarded House, near what is now Oxford Circus, when Elizabeth Wilkinson, 'the Cockney Championess', beat Martha Jones. Elizabeth Wilkinson is considered as the first recorded champion female pugilist.

The "London Journal" for June 23, 1722, refers to a battle between "two of the feminine gender" who "maintained the battle with great valour for a long time, to the no small satisfaction of the spectators." After this description the advertisement appeared: "I, Elizabeth Wilkinson of Clerkenwell, who had earlier had some words with Hannah Hyfield, 'challenged and invited' her adversary to meet her on the stage for three guineas. Each fighter would hold half-a-crown in each hand and the first to drop the money would lose the battle. Elizabeth Wilkinson won on that day. Shortly after this she beat another lady pugilist from Billingsgate – Martha Jones. The only details of this contest are that it lasted 22 minutes."

Later, Elizabeth married Stokes who owned a rival booth to James Figg on Islington Road in London. Elizabeth Stokes successfully fought in the husband's booth and called herself "European Championess".

Prize fighting that time was legal on the London stage and there was a definite distinction between trials of skills which involved weapons, usually swords and/or quarterstaffs and trials of manhood involving fists. Tony Gee in his research into the early history of prize fighting has revealed that in 1720s Elizabeth Stokes was one on the rare examples of a fighter who was equally proficient in both arenas and would engage in combat both with weapons and fists. He explains that: "Contrary to popular belief, no performer was required to engage in the two disciplines during the same contest, although boxing matches were often on the undercard of weapons confrontations. Elizabeth Stokes was primarily involved in trials of skill, in which she occasionally fought with her husband against other couples. However, in these mixed paired trials the women always appear to have competed only against each other and were never matched against the men. At no time, though, did pugilistic contests feature mixed pairs and in her fistic encounters Elizabeth Stokes was always billed individually." There is little doubt that women were involved in the prize ring during the 18th and 19th centuries. However, their fights are rarely recorded or taken seriously by the commentators writing at the time or by later historians.

In fact, permanent British love of both genders to fistfighting (specifically existence such fighters as Elizabeth) reflects their national character including proud, persistency, toughness, and purposefulness, vigor, self-dependence. Not without reason the song is still popular: "Rule, Britannia! Rule the waves, Britons never will be slaves!" It might be refrazed referring to a female pugilist: "Rule, Britoness…"

July 30, 2008



References

"Anecdotes of the manners and customs of London"

"Bare Fists: The History of Bare-Knuckle Prize-Fighting" by Bob Mee

Social Life & Customs in London. Book Reviews

Pierce Egan. Boxiana: sketches of ancient and modern pugilism, 1824

Eighteen Century boxing by Randy Roberts

Women’s Sports: A History" by Allen Guttman (Columbia University press, 1991)

Fair Fight: an illustrated review of boxing on British fairgrounds by Dr. Vanessa Toulmin (World’s Fair Ltd, London, 1999)


Female Bruisers
Bare knuckle prize fighting ("Female Bruisers")
Mezzotint by Butler Clowes (after John Collet). 1868
From Live Journal


Sal Dab giving Monsieur a reciept in full

Sal Dab giving Monsieur a reciept in full
Satire against the French, with a fist fight between an English fish-wife on the right, and a Frenchman; in a cobbled street, with three bystanders including a fishwife who holds out a lobster to pinch the foreigner's bottom. May 1776
Mezzotint with hand-colouring. British Museum


Prize fight in London
Prize fighting in a London's street, 18th century. Sketch from an old engraving.
"The ladies decided to settle their differences according to the rules of the prize ring, stripped to the waist, tied up their hair and fought fiercely, with an excited crowd cheering them on. Forgetful of the rules of the Prize Ring, they went for each other, literally with tooth and nail."
Illustration from the book "Women’s Sports: A History" by Allen Guttman (Columbia University press, 1991)


Outdoor Pugilism
'Can't Make Scratch'
From Drew Hammond's collection:
"Back in the 1700 and 1800's in England, when a fighter is knocked down they have to get back to a scratch mark in the center of the dirt ring in a short period of time, in order to continue fighting."

Outdoor Pugilism
'Duel Exchange'. By Lou Kagan.
From Drew Hammond's collection

James Figg

James Figg


Fistfighting riles Fistfighting riles, 1741


Jack Broughton Jack Broughton


Men's prize fights
Illustrations from Boxiana or Sketches of Ancient and Modern Pugilism, London<


Prize fighting

Prize fighting

Prize fighting

Prize fighting


ribb and Molineux Pierce Egan. The second contest between Cribb and Molineux, September 28, 1811.


Women's fist fights from old illustrations:


Prize fighting
Two ladies supporting different boxers, fight at a boxing match. Fragment of an engraving


Prize fighting
Prize fighting
Women fight in the street and in the market. Fragment of an engraving


Prize fighting
Prize fight. Artwork from NLH1000's collection


Prize fighting
Prize fight. Artwork from PaulineG1's collection


>> History of Female Combat

>> Fistfight in old times

Пишите Нам / Contact Us

Последнее обновление: 15 августа 2008

Last updated: August 15, 2008


Информация, содержащаяся на данном сайте, является интеллектуальной собственностью ее авторов и владельцев.

Information contained on the site belongs to its authors and owners.

В соответствии с международными законами об авторских правах, при перепечатке материалов с этого сайта необходимо ставить видимую ссылку на "Клуб женских единоборств" с указанием электронного адреса: http://fscclub.com .

In accordance to the international copyright laws, a visible reference to the "Female Single Combat Club" must be placed as well as the URL address: http://fscclub.com if any material from the site is reprinted.

Авторские права © 2000 ЛеВВ. Все права защищены

Copyright © 2000 LeVV. All rights reserved

клуб

female

женских

single combat

единоборств

club

Rambler's Top100




Они делали историю



Бойцы призового ринга

Элизабет Вилкинсон-Стокс



English Version





Рукопашные бои за приз – старейшее развлечение британцев обоего пола, популярное и по сей день. Рукопашные бои за приз один на один - истинно народный спорт и забава в Британии.





Кулачный бой под мостом и чествование победительницы.
Рисунок из "Национальной Полицейской газеты", 1890е годы
Retronaut

Bare-Knuckled fight

Когда дрались на кулачках простые мужики и бабы, большого значения этому не придавали. Но об этом стали писать, поскольку этим спортом заинтересовались высшие сословия. В начале 18 столетия из боев за приз родился спортивный бокс на голых кулаках, отцом-основателем которого считается Джеймс Фигг.

Организованный кулачный бой, или бокс, возник в начале 18 века и с тех пор прошел несколько периодов своего развития. В 1700-х годах Джеймс Фигг открыл в Лондоне "Школу единоборства и самообороны”. Фигг стал первым чемпионом в поединках на голых кулаках и удерживал этот титул в течение 11 лет. Стараниями Фигга этот вид спорта, в котором раньше использовались удары руками, ногами и борцовские приемы, превратился в искусство чисто кулачного боя. В те времена не было весовых категорий, боксерских перчаток, предельного количества раундов и перерывов для отдыха.

В 1743 году ученик Джеймса Фигга, Джек Бротон, известный теперь как "Отец английского бокса”, впервые обнародовал созданные им "Правила Бротона”, которые вскоре стали стандартными правилами бокса. Согласно этим правилам, раунд заканчивался, если один из бойцов был сбит с ног или выброшен за пределы ринга. Бой завершался, если один из бойцов не мог оправиться от нокдауна в течение 30 секунд. Боксерский поединок мог завершиться нокаутом, капитуляцией или вмешательством полиции. Правила Бротона действовали до 1839 года, когда вступили в силу лондонские правила призового ринга, по которым поединки стали вестись на квадратном ринге площадью 24 квадратных фута, ограниченном канатами.

Как только широкая публика узнала о существовании кулачного боя как спорта, она также узнала, что им уже занимаются не только мужчины.

В книге "Путешествие авантюриста" Мартина Ногу, опубликованной в 1728 году, сообщается о бое двух женщин, "раздетых до пояса". Джеймс Пеллер Малколм в своем сборнике "Манеры и традиции Лондона" собрал большое количество упоминаний о кулачных бойцах женского пола, выступавших в двух традиционных местах в Лондоне, где проводились различные единоборства - в "Хоккее на яме" и в "Амфитеатре" Джеймса Фигга.

Этот старинный бокс за приз, на самом деле, был ближе к кикбоксингу с элементами борьбы, чем к современному боксу. В соответствии с тогдашними правилами, женщинам дозволялось наносить удары кулаками, использовать стопы и колени для ударов в любую часть тела. Они также могли терзать, царапать и бросать друг друга. Следствием этого были серьезные ранения одной или обеих участниц. В те времена боксерские матчи были кровавыми, и кулачные бои среди женщин из низших сословий велись без перчаток и "до победного конца". Иногда боксерши выступали обнаженными до пояса.

Образ кровожадной, агрессивной, потной, окровавленной (и часто гологрудой) женщины выражал волнующее животное начало и страсть. Этот образ щекотал чувства мужской аудитории, но, в то же время, решительно опровергал устоявшееся мнение о женском поле как о пассивном, мягком и слабом.

Из-за относительно небольшого количества женщин, способных драться, женщины бывало выходили против мужчин, и иногда их побеждали, но чаще женщины получали серьезные травмы. При сильных повреждениях швы накладывались на месте, чтобы бой мог быть продолжен, даже со сломанными носами и челюстями, выбитыми зубами и подбитыми глазами.

В 18 веке бокс приобрел популярность в Британии - и мужчины и женщины низших сословий дрались за приз (а иногда и для куража). Но особенно популярен бокс стал у мужчин-аристократов (знатные дамы естественно на кулаках не дрались - это было делом простолюдинок; впрочем, на фрагменте одной из гравюр справа дерутся две дамы-болельщицы на боксерском матче в аристократическом доме).

Elizabeth Wilkinson
Элизабет Вилкинсон-Стокс

Первый запротоколированный женский боксерский матч на голых кулаках состоялся в 1722 году в Лондоне, в Пансионе (рядом с современной Оксфордской площадью), в котором Элизабет Вилкинсон, 'городская чемпионка', победила некую Марту Джонс. Элизабет Вилкинсон считается первой зарегистрированной чемпионкой в кулачном бою.

Лондонский журнал" за 22 июня 1722 года упоминает о бое между "двумя особами женского пола", которые "в течение долгого времени доблестно сражались к немалому удовольствию зрителей". После этого описания было помещено следующее объявление: "Я, Элизабет Вилкинсон из Клеркенвелла, имевшая разговор с Ханной Хайфилд, требую сатисфакции и приглашаю ее встретиться со мной, чтобы боксировать на спор в три гинеи; каждая из нас должна держать в руке полкроны, и проигравшей будет считаться та, которая первой уронит монету на пол. "Элизабет Вилкинсон победила, а вскоре после этого она побила другую кулачную бойчиху из Биллингсгейта - Марту Джонс. О том поединке известно только, что он длился 22 минуты".

Позже, Элизабет Вилкинсон вышла замуж за некоего Стокса, который владел боксерским павильоном на Айлингтон Роуд в Лондоне и являлся конкурентом Джеймса Фигга. Элизабет Стокс успешно выступала в павильоне мужа и называла себя "европейской чемпионкой".

Бои за приз в те времена стали легальными на рингах Лондона, и они несомненно отличались от традиционных фехтовальных поединков (со шпагой или рапирой) тем, что в них необходимо было проявлять мужество в непосредственном кулачном бою. Тони Ги, исследуя раннюю историю кулачного боя за приз, обнаружил, что в 1720х годах Элизабет Стокс являла собой редкий пример бойца, способного драться на обеих аренах, в равной степени успешно, с оружием и на кулаках. Он писал следующее: "Вопреки распространенному представлению, от бойцов никогда не требовалось, чтобы они выступали в обеих дисциплинах, хотя случалось, что боксерский поединок бывал вторым номером после боя с оружием. Элизабет Стокс первоначально участвовала в единоборствах "двое на двое", в которых она время от времени дралась на пару со своим мужем против других пар. В таких "смешанных" поединках женщинам дозволялось драться только друг с другом и никогда - с мужчинами. Однако, независимо от того, дралась ли она один на один или в паре, Элизабет Стокс всегда объявляла о своих кулачных поединках как об "индивидуальных". Мало кто сомневается, что в XVIII и XIX столетиях женщины боксировали за приз, однако такие бои редко протоколировались и не воспринимались серьезно комментаторами того времени, а поздее – историками

Надо отметить, что стойкая любовь британцев обоего пола к кулачным боям, в частности, существование женщин, подобных Элизабет Вилкинсон-Стокс, характеризует их национальный характер: гордость, упорство, жесткость, целеустремленность, энергию, независимость. Недаром до сих пор популярна песня: " Правь Британия! Правь волнами: Британцы никогда не будут рабами!" А еще можно сказать, имея в виду женщину, кулачного бойца: "Британка, правь морями..."

July 30, 2008

Эксклюзив Клуба Женских Единоборств



References

Зарисовки о манерах и обычаях Лондона (англ.)

Боб Ми. Голые кулаки. История кулачных боев за приз (англ.)

Социальная жизнь и традиции Лондона. Обзор литературы (англ.)

Пирс Эган. Боксиана. Зарисовки о древнем и современном кулачном бое, 1824 (англ.)

Рэнди Робертс. Бокс в восемнадцатом столетии (англ.)

Аллен Гуттман. Женский спорт (англ.) Columbia University press, 1991

Ванесса Тоулмин. Ярмарочный (честный) бой: иллюстрированная история бокса на британских площадках. "World’s Fair Ltd", London, 1999 (англ.)


Female Bruisers
Бой за приз ("Производительницы синяков")
Глубокая печать Батлера Клоуза (с оригинала Джона Коллета). 1868
From Christies


Sal Dab giving Monsieur a reciept in full

Сэл Дэб угощает месье по полной программе
Кулачный бой рыбачки и француза. Сатирическая гравюра. Пока жена рыбака дубасит француза, торговка рыбой поднесла к его заднице омара, который кусает его. Гравюра Джона Коллета. Май 1776. Глубокая печать с ручной раскраской
British Museum


Prize fight in London
Со старинной гравюры. Борьба за приз на лондонской улице, 18 столетие.
Женщины решили сразиться по правилам 'призовой арены', они разделись до пояса, прибрали волосы и стали свирепо драться перед возбужденной толпой, собравшейся вокруг бойцов и подбадривающей их. Забыв о правилах призового ринга, они вцепились друг в друга буквально зубами и ногтями" - подпись под гравюрой

Иллюстрация из книги Аллена Гуттмана "Женский спорт: История" (Columbia University press, 1991)


Outdoor Pugilism
"Не способна вернуться к черте"
Из коллекции Дру Хаммонда:
"В 18 и 19 веках в Англии, сбитый с ног боец должен был вернуться в центр земляного ринга, к нацарапанной на нем черте в течение определенного времени - до счета десять"

Outdoor Pugilism
"Обмен ударами". Рисунок Лу Кагана
Из коллекции Дру Хаммонда

James Figg

Джеймс Фигг


Fistfighting riles Правила кулачного боя, 1741г.


Jack Broughton Джек Бротон


Мужские бои за приз
Иллюстрации из книги Boxiana or Sketches of Ancient and Modern Pugilism, London<


Prize fighting

Prize fighting

Prize fighting

Prize fighting


ribb and Molineux Второй бой Крибба и Молине, 28 сентября 1811г.


Женские кулачные поединки со старинных иллюстраций:


Prize fighting
Две дамы, болеющие за разных бойцов, подрались на боксерском поединке. Фрагмент гравюры


Prize fighting
Prize fighting
Драки простолюдинок на улице и на рынке, фрагметны гравюр


Prize fighting
Призовой ринг. Работа из коллекции NLH1000


Prize fighting

Prize fighting
Призовой ринг. Работы из коллекции PaulineG1


>> История женских единоборств

>> Кулачный бой в старину

Пишите Нам / Contact Us

Последнее обновление: 15 августа 2008

Last updated: August 15, 2008


Информация, содержащаяся на данном сайте, является интеллектуальной собственностью ее авторов и владельцев.

Information contained on the site belongs to its authors and owners.

В соответствии с международными законами об авторских правах, при перепечатке материалов с этого сайта необходимо ставить видимую ссылку на "Клуб женских единоборств" с указанием электронного адреса: http://fscclub.com .

In accordance to the international copyright laws, a visible reference to the "Female Single Combat Club" must be placed as well as the URL address: http://fscclub.com if any material from the site is reprinted.

Авторские права © 2000 ЛеВВ. Все права защищены

Copyright © 2000 LeVV. All rights reserved